The Westborough Water District (District) has resolved to change the way voters elect members of its Board of Directors by transitioning to zone-based elections. Currently, voters elect all five Board members through an at-large elections system. A zone-based elections system is one in which the District is divided into separate zones, each with one Board member who resides in that zone and is chosen by voters in that particular zone. Beginning in 2022, two of the District's Board members will be elected from zones, and the remaining Board members will be elected from zones in 2024.

The public is invited to participate in four (4) public hearings listed below to provide input on the creation of the election zones. At the first two public hearings (December 9, 2021 and January 13, 2022), the public is invited to share ideas about potential communities of interests and the composition of zones. Please cllick here to access the Redistricting Community of Interest Worksheet.

Following these two initial meetings, with the help of a demographer, the District will present one or more draft maps of five (5) potential election zones and the order of zone elections for consideration and public input at the February 10, 2022 and March 10, 2022 public hearings.

The public hearings listed in the schedule below will be held either in person at the Westborough Water District office at 2263 Westborough Boulevard, South San Francisco or via teleconference.

Public Hearing Schedule

Thursday, December 9, 2021 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, January 13, 2022 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, February 10, 2022 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, March 10, 2022 7:30 p.m.

At the Regular Board Meeting of March 10, 2022 at 7:30 pm, after receiving public input from the fourth public hearing, the Board of Directors will select one of the draft electoral maps as the final map and decide which two (2) of the five (5) new zones will elect Board members in 2022, and which three (3) of the five (5) new zones will elect Board members in 2024.